After You Cross the Finishing Line II

placeholder image

After You Cross the Finishing Line II



In the diagram, the course is a twice around windward-leeward course. The same mark is used as the start mark, the leeward mark and the finishing mark. The race committee either uses a different boat for the start and finish or moves in between the start and finish. At position 5, Purple crosses the finishing line from the course side. According to the first part of the definition of finish, she has finished. The third exception applies because they continue to sail the course and do another lap. She crosses the line again at position 11. This time she finishes. This type of course setup used to be quite common. It can cause confusion and it involves moving the signal boat, so it is not used as frequently as it used to be.


In the second diagram, there is a leeward gate just above the start/finish line. Yellow has trouble getting her spinnaker down as she gets to the gate. While she is struggling to get the spinnaker down, she drifts through the finish line from the course side. She finally gets herself sorted out and starts to sail up wind to the next mark. She is continuing to sail the course and the third exception applies.


If you had asked me a few weeks ago for the meaning of “continuing the sail the course” I would have given just these two examples. I recently discovered that recently, World Sailing issued Case 148. It can be found in the latest edition of the case book https://d7qh6ksdplczd.cloudfront.net/sailing/wp-content/uploads/2023/02/28112609/Case-Book-for-2021-2024-with-2022-2023-Supplements.pdf World Sailing Cases are authoritative interpretations of the rules. This case says that a boat can cross the finishing line from the course side and then go back and correct other errors in sailing the course, not just the errors at the finishing line, as long as “her actions are consistent with continuing ‘to sail the course’” The cases describes a boat that after crossing the line for the first time “eased her mainsheet, luffed her sail and stopped for 30 seconds”. The cases conclude that these actions are not consistent with sailing the course, so the exception does not apply and this boat has finished and therefore it is too late to apply rule 28.2 and correct any errors in sailing the course. In the diagram above, where Blue slows down at position 4 and luffs at position 5, I would conclude that she was not continuing the sail the course. If she then discovers that she missed a mark, it is too late.
Finish A boat finishes when, after starting, any part of her hull crosses the finishing line from the course side. However, she has not finished if after crossing the finishing line she
(a) takes a penalty under rule 44.2,
(b) corrects an error in sailing the course made at the line, or
(c) continues to sail the course.
Sail the Course A boat sails the course provided that a string representing her track from the time she begins to approach the starting line from its prestart side to start until she finishes, when drawn taut,
(a) passes each mark of the course for the race on the required side and in the correct order,
(b) touches each mark designated in the sailing instructions to be a rounding mark, and
(c) passes between the marks of a gate from the direction of the course from the previous mark.
28 SAILING THE RACE
28.1 A boat shall start, sail the course and then finish. While doing so, she may leave on either side a mark that does not begin, bound or end the leg she is sailing. After finishing she need not cross the finishing line completely.
28.2 A boat may correct any errors in sailing the course, provided she has not crossed the finishing line to finish.
Links to copies of this article and previous rules articles along with animated diagrams can be found at https://www.racingrulesofsailing.ca/rules-articles.
 
Posted: 7/3/2024 2:42:24 PM by Andrew Alberti | with 0 comments


Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/44370f14-c997-424f-bd4c-ef2a7bd01e3f/After_You_Cross_the_Finishing_Line_II.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2020 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 or 2017-2020 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2021 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2021-24. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
ABOUT ANDREW ALBERTI
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is an International Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Send your questions to Andrew at [email protected].

 

ABOUT RCYC: 
166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
 
After You Cross the Finishing Line II
After You Cross The Finishing Line I
Tacking III
Tacking II
Publication Changes and Tacking
Post Archive
July 2024(0)
July 2024(1)
May 2024(0)
May 2024(2)
March 2024(1)
February 2024(1)
May 2023(1)
September 2023(1)
September 2023(0)
May 2023(0)
January 2023(1)
April 2022(1)
December 2021(1)
October 2021(1)
August 2021(2)
March/April 2021(1)
January/February 2021(1)
December 2020(1)
November 2020(1)
September 2020(1)
July 2020(1)
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)
RSS