April 2016 - Answers To Questions – Different Proper Course II

placeholder image

April 2016 - Answers To Questions – Different Proper Course II

In the January/February issue my article showed the diagram below.  I received some new questions based on the diagram.  


Click Image for larger animation

In the diagram, Blue is sailing directly downwind with a symmetrical spinnaker. Blue is being overtaken to leeward by Yellow, who as is typical for a boat with an asymmetrical spinnaker, is sailing higher than would be sailed by a boat with a symmetrical spinnaker or white sails. The person asking the question asked what happens if Blue had been on starboard tack all along. That of course changes the situation completely and it is a very good question. At position 1, in the diagram as shown, Blue is right-of-way because the boats are on the same tack and Yellow is clear astern of Blue, so rule 12 applies. If Blue were on starboard tack, then the boats are on opposite tacks and rule 10 applies, so Blue has right-of-way. At position 2 in the diagram the boats are on the same tack and overlapped, so according to rule 11, Yellow has right-of-way. If Blue were on starboard, then rule 10 still applies and Blue has right-of-way. If you are going to sail directly downwind, it is much safer to be on starboard tack.

The second part of the question that I was sent was “if Blue is not on starboard at position 1, does it have the option to gybe over to starboard before Yellow reaches position 2 and establishes an overlap?” If just after position 1, Blue gybes onto starboard, then she goes from right-of-way under rule 12 to right-of-way under rule 10. The right-of-way never changes. (Match racers beware - this is not true in match racing, since rule 13.2 would apply in the middle - I won’t cover that here, but you have been warned!) If she never alters course, neither rule 15 nor rule 16 apply and Yellow must keep clear of Blue.  


Click Image for larger animation

If we stretch the question a little further, as shown in the second diagram, and Blue gybes after the overlap has been established, we have different question.  At position 1, Blue has right-of-way.  At position 2, Yellow has right-of-way.  At position 3, Blue has right-of-way.  Blue has gained right-of-way through her own actions so rule 15 applies.  She has to initially give Yellow room to keep clear.  As long as she does so, she is okay and Yellow must keep clear.  If her gybe is so close to Yellow that Yellow cannot keep clear, then Blue has gybed too close and broken rule 15. The lesson here is to gybe while there is still space. 
 
10 ON OPPOSITE TACKS
When boats are on opposite tacks, a port-tack boat shall keep clear of a starboard-tack boat.

11 ON THE SAME TACK, OVERLAPPED
When boats are on the same tack and overlapped, a windward boat shall keep clear of a leeward boat.

12 ON THE SAME TACK, NOT OVERLAPPED
When boats are on the same tack and not overlapped, a boat clear astern shall keep clear of a boat clear ahead.

15 ACQUIRING RIGHT OF WAY
When a boat acquires right of way, she shall initially give the other boat room to keep clear, unless she acquires right of way because of the other boat’s actions.

© Copyright 2016 Andrew Alberti
Posted: 4/1/2016 1:18:04 PM by Andrew Alberti


Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/9002f226-b07d-471f-b149-fe9ad67ae519/April_2016_-_Answers_To_Questions_–_Different_Proper_Course_II.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2016 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2017 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-20. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
ABOUT ANDREW ALBERTI
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is a National Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Send your questions to Andrew at kyrules@alberti.ca.

 

ABOUT RCYC: 
166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
 
November 2020 - Further down the line at the start
September 2020 - Back to the Usual Start
July 2020 - An Unusual Start II
June 2020 - An Unusual Start
May 2020 - A Big Collision
Post Archive
November 2020(1)
September 2020(1)
July 2020(1)
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)
RSS