April 2017 - The 2017 - 2020 Racing Rules Of Sailing III

placeholder image

April 2017 - The 2017 - 2020 Racing Rules Of Sailing III

This month, we continue with our review of the changes in the latest rule book, 2017-2020. The hard copy of the new book is now available from Sail Canada. I hope that local stores will have it soon. It is also available on the web from the World Sailing site. This month, I will continue our look at mark roundings, this time looking at rule 18.3 “Tacking in the Zone”. Rule 18.3 has always been the part of rule 18 that is most difficult to explain. When it was first introduced, in 1997, I summarized it by saying “Don’t tack within the zone unless you have read the rule at least three times.” The new version is not much easier to understand. It does eliminate some unusual cases and limits the rule to its originally intended purpose.

Rule 18.3 is designed to limit the actions of port-tack boats with respect to approaching starboard-tack boats when the starboard-tackers are on the layline of a mark that is to be left to port. If the port-tack boat can tack in front a starboard-tack boat and stay far enough ahead so that she does not interfere with it, then the port-tack boat is okay. If not, then the port-tack boat is probably in trouble.

One problem with the earlier versions of rule 18.3 is that it applied to marks to be left to starboard (a very unusual situation in fleet racing, but one that does occur with fixed-mark courses). In this case, it was the right-of-way, inside starboard-tack boat who was restricted in her tacking. This led to starboard-tack boats sailing past the layline and causing more chaos before they tacked. In the 2017-2020 rules, rule 18.3 no longer applies at marks to be left to starboard.

A second problem with the earlier versions of rule 18.3 is that it applied between two boats, both of whom had tacked within the zone. In that situation, it was very important to know who passed head to wind first. This was often very difficult to determine. In the 2017-2020 rules, rule 18.3 does not apply between to boats who approach on the same tack.
 
18.3 Tacking in the Zone
If a boat in the zone of a mark to be left to port passes head to wind from port to starboard tack and is then fetching the mark, she shall not cause a boat that has been on starboard tack since entering the zone to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact and she shall give mark-room if that boat becomes overlapped inside her. When this rule applies between boats, rule 18.2 does not apply between them.

Rule 18.3 continues to apply in the circumstance that we most commonly use it and despite some different words, it means the same thing.



Purple approaches the weather mark on port tack. Green and Yellow are both fetching the mark on starboard tack. After Purple passes head to wind from port tack to starboard tack, she is fetching the mark. Yellow at position 5 becomes overlapped inside Purple, so Purple has to give Yellow mark-room. She appears to give Yellow room, but heads up to avoid her. In doing so she forces Green to head above close-hauled and breaks the other part of the rule.

In summary, rule 18.3 is the same as it was before, in the most common situations. In two much less common situations, a mark left to starboard, and two boats approaching on the same tack and both tacking, it no longer applies. It remains just as important now to read the rule carefully; it is at least as important also to think about it.

© Copyright 2017 Andrew Alberti
Posted: 4/1/2017 2:10:46 PM by Andrew Alberti


Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/0dd6191f-c807-4a9e-aab4-b8040660c214/April_2017_-_The_2017_-_2020_Racing_Rules_Of_Sailing_III.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2016 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2017 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-20. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
ABOUT ANDREW ALBERTI
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is a National Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Send your questions to Andrew at kyrules@alberti.ca.

 

ABOUT RCYC: 
166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
 
June 2020 - An Unusual Start
May 2020 - A Big Collision
March/April 2020 - A Three-Boat Finish
January/February 2020 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules V
November/December 2019 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules IV
Post Archive
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)
RSS