August 2010 - Proper Course III

placeholder image

August 2010 - Proper Course III

Last month we talked about some rules that use the term proper course. We talked about rule 17, 18.1(b) and “mark-room” used in rule 18.2 and 18.3. This month we will talk about the other two rules that use the term. The first is rule 18.4. 
 
18.4     Gybing
When an inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark to sail her proper course, until she gybes she shall sail no farther from the mark than needed to sail that course. Rule 18.4 does not apply at a gate mark.


(click on the diagram to see a larger cleaner version)

In the diagram we start with a different situation where rule 18.4 does not apply. The two boats are approaching the weather mark. At position 2 blue establishes an overlap from clear astern to windward. Yellow is the right of way leeward boat (rule 11). She is entitled to mark-room (rule 18.2(b)). She runs rounds the mark and decides not to bear off. No rule requires her to.   Her course at position 7 is probably well above her proper course but she is allowed to sail this course.



(click on the diagram to see a larger cleaner version)

In the second diagram we see two boats approaching a leeward mark on port tack. Orange is clear ahead at position 1. They are overlapped at position 2. Orange is right-of-way leeward boat. She is not limited to sailing her proper course until they enter the zone. At that point, rule 18 and therefore 18.4 start. She is an inside overlapped right-of-way boat who will have to gybe to sail her proper course. She may therefore sail no further from the mark than her proper course. Her proper course may be the wide and close rounding that we see in the diagram. Unlike the previous situation she is not allowed to keep going straight at position 4, even though she is right-of-way and has luffing rights. Once she gybes at position 5 she is no longer subject to this restriction. 

The final rule that talks about proper course is rule 23.2.  This is a rule that rarely comes up except in match racing.
 
23.2     Except when sailing her proper course, a boat shall not interfere with a boat taking a penalty or sailing on another leg.


(click on the diagram to see a larger cleaner version)

In the diagram as shown Red rounds the windward mark significantly ahead of green and gybes around the mark onto port tack. Green is approaching on the starboard tack layline.   At position 4 as the boats approach each other, green bears away to “attack” red. While green is on starboard tack and therefore right-of-way boat, she is not permitted to do this since she is on a different leg of the course from red and is clearly not sailing her proper course.

One final reminder on a completely different topic since it has come up a few times this summer. A hat is a hat, a shirt is a shirt and a flag is a flag. A red hat (Mount Gay or otherwise) is not a protest flag and will not be accepted as one. 

© Copyright 2010 Andrew Alberti
Posted: 8/1/2010 2:42:45 PM by Andrew Alberti


Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/093ace32-a809-446f-a2c3-7912f87655a5/August_2010_-_Proper_Course_III.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2016 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2017 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-20. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
ABOUT ANDREW ALBERTI
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is a National Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Send your questions to Andrew at kyrules@alberti.ca.

 

ABOUT RCYC: 
166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
 
June 2020 - An Unusual Start
May 2020 - A Big Collision
March/April 2020 - A Three-Boat Finish
January/February 2020 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules V
November/December 2019 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules IV
Post Archive
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)
RSS