August 2013 - Finishing And Rounding The Same Mark

placeholder image

August 2013 - Finishing And Rounding The Same Mark

Last month, I discussed a situation that I had been asked about where one boat was approaching a leeward gate and another was approaching a separate finishing line. This month, I want to carry on to a related situation. This time, the finishing line and the mark are together. 

First, let’s look at a common situation.


(click on the diagram to see a larger cleaner version)

In the diagram, Red and Green are approaching a leeward mark that both of them are going to leave to Port.  Green is sailing on a reach on starboard tack.  Red is on a run on port tack and sailing much more slowly. They are overlapped at position 1 and continue overlapped until position 6.  Green is entitled to mark-room in accordance with rule 18.2(b). Green is also the right-of-way boat since she is on starboard tack. Rule 18.4 says that until she gybes she cannot sail further from the mark than her proper course, so essentially. she has to gybe at the mark. Red just has to give her room and follow her around the mark. This is a fairly common situation and does not seem to cause too much trouble. Now let’s look at a very similar situation.

18.2 Giving Mark-Room
(a) When boats are overlapped the outside boat shall give the inside boat mark-room, unless rule 18.2(b) applies.
(b) If boats are overlapped when the first of them reaches the zone, the outside boat at that moment shall thereafter give the inside boat mark-room. If a boat is clear ahead when she reaches the zone, the boat clear astern at that moment shall thereafter give her mark-room.

18.4 Gybing
When an inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark to sail her proper course, until she gybes she shall sail no farther from the mark than needed to sail that course. Rule 18.4 does not apply at a gate mark.

24 INTERFERING WITH ANOTHER BOAT

24.1 If reasonably possible, a boat not racing shall not interfere with a boat that is racing.
Racing A boat is racing from her preparatory signal until she finishes and clears the finishing line and marks or retires, or until the race committee signals a general recall, postponement or abandonment.


(click on the diagram to see a larger cleaner version)

This diagram starts exactly the same way, but this time White is approaching her finish. Blue still has another lap to go. The first part of rule 18.4 says, “must gybe at a mark to sail her proper course”. White’s proper course has nothing to do with rounding the mark or gybing, so rule 18.4 doesn’t apply. White is the right-of-way boat and has no reason to stay close the mark.  Blue is trapped. She has to gybe to avoid White and even then, she is the windward boat. At position 4 and 5, she is sailing away from the mark that she is trying to round. She only gets some relief from the rules at position 5 when White has not only finished (position 4), but cleared the line and therefore according the definitions, stopped racing. At that time, rule 24 requires that White “if reasonably possible” shall not interfere with Blue. This is far too late for Blue.

In situations like this, boats such as Blue would be well advised to keep an early eye on the inside of the course and maybe even slow down to take White’s stern. 

© Copyright 2013 Andrew Alberti
Posted: 8/1/2013 2:41:19 PM by Andrew Alberti


Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/02cf3410-b41f-48cd-9f21-a70994b6ae90/August_2013_-_Finishing_And_Rounding_The_Same_Mark.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2016 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2017 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-20. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
ABOUT ANDREW ALBERTI
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is a National Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Send your questions to Andrew at kyrules@alberti.ca.

 

ABOUT RCYC: 
166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
 
September 2020 - Back to the Usual Start
July 2020 - An Unusual Start II
June 2020 - An Unusual Start
May 2020 - A Big Collision
March/April 2020 - A Three-Boat Finish
Post Archive
September 2020(1)
July 2020(1)
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)
RSS