December 2012 - Almost Laying The Windward Mark

placeholder image

December 2012 - Almost Laying The Windward Mark

This is the last article of the year.  In January we will start using a new rule book.  I will cover the changes in my first few articles next year.  In this article I will cover a situation that has not changed but I will use the new words since I don’t expect many of you to running into the situation before the new book comes into effect.

We have all run into the situation where we are not quite laying the weather mark.  If you are sailing a slightly heavier boat, you might use your momentum to shoot the mark.   Sometimes you succeed, sometimes the wind catches the other side of the jib and you end up tacking.  I heard two protest situations this summer where this happened. 



In the diagram, Yellow and Blue are both approaching the weather mark on Starboard tack with Blue just below the layline.  They are overlapped when they enter the three-boat-length zone.  Close to the mark at position 4, Blue heads up fairly suddenly in an attempt shoot the mark and ends up hitting yellow.  

Since the boats are overlapped when they enter the zone, rule 18.2(b) applies and Blue is entitled to Mark-Room.  When Blue suddenly alters course, she would normally have to give Yellow room to keep clear according to rule 16.  It appears that she may have broken a rule, but as this course alteration is required for her to round the mark, she is “within the room to which she is entitled” so according to rule 21 she is exonerated for breaking rule 16.  When the boats make contact, Yellow would be disqualified for not giving mark-room.  A boat in Yellow’s position has to anticipate that Blue might make a sudden luff and be prepared to  give Blue room.
 
18.2 Giving Mark-Room
(b) If boats are overlapped when the first of them reaches the zone, the outside boat at that moment shall thereafter give the inside boat mark-room. If a boat is clear ahead when she reaches the zone, the boat clear astern at that moment shall thereafter give her mark-room.
(c) When a boat is required to give mark-room by rule 18.2(b),

(1) she shall continue to do so even if later an overlap is broken or a new overlap begins;
(2) if she becomes overlapped inside the boat entitled to mark-room, she shall also give that boat room to sail her proper course while they remain overlapped.

However, if the boat entitled to mark-room passes head to wind or leaves the zone, rule 18.2(b) ceases to apply. 

16 CHANGING COURSE

16.1 When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other boat room to keep clear.

21 EXONERATION
When a boat is sailing within the room or mark-room to which she is entitled under a rule of Section C, she shall be exonerated if, in an incident with a boat required to give her that room or mark-room,
(a) she breaks a rule of Section A, rule 15 or rule 16, or
(b) she is compelled to break rule 31.

Mark-Room
Room for a boat to leave a mark on the required side. Also,
(a) room to sail to the mark when her proper course is to sail close to it, and
(b) room to round the mark as necessary to sail the course.

However, mark-room for a boat does not include room to tack unless she is overlapped inside and to windward of the boat required to give mark-room



The second diagram appears very similar.  Red is below the layline and as they enter the zone, she is overlapped with Green. At position 2 and 3, she is entitled to mark-room.  At position 4, she luffs up quickly in attempt to round the mark.  This time, her bow crosses head to wind. According to the last sentence of rule 18.2 “if the boat entitled to mark-room passes head to wind or leaves the zone, rule 18.2(b) ceases to apply.”  Since 18.2(b) doesn’t apply, Red is no longer exonerated for breaking rule 16.  When Red crosses head to wind, she becomes a tacking boat and is subject to rule 13.  In this case Red would be disqualified.

Boats trying to pinch up to lay the mark need to be very careful not to cross head to wind.  They probably want to release their jib sheets to avoid a backing jib pushing them past head to wind.

Boats sailing above other boats who are pinching to make the mark need to be aware that the boat below may suddenly luff up and the windward boat is required to avoid the luffing leeward boat immediately

© Copyright 2012 Andrew Alberti
Posted: 12/1/2012 1:52:13 PM by Andrew Alberti


Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/282c893d-2380-4212-b76f-586823cb1955/December_2012_-_Almost_Laying_The_Windward_Mark.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2016 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2017 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-20. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
ABOUT ANDREW ALBERTI
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is a National Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Send your questions to Andrew at kyrules@alberti.ca.

 

ABOUT RCYC: 
166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
 
June 2020 - An Unusual Start
May 2020 - A Big Collision
March/April 2020 - A Three-Boat Finish
January/February 2020 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules V
November/December 2019 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules IV
Post Archive
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)
RSS