December 2013 - Rules Changes IX - Trash

placeholder image

December 2013 - Rules Changes IX - Trash

Every time the rules change (usually every four years) we see discussion about changes and what they mean. Sometimes we discover unintended consequences. 2013 was no exception. The first change that I covered when I started covering the changes this year was the introduction of rule 55.

Part 4 rules apply only to boats racing. However, rule 55 applies at all times when boats are on the water.

55 TRASH DISPOSAL
A competitor shall not intentionally put trash in the water.

It is such a short, and on the surface, simple rule with obvious good intentions. Now what does it really mean? What is trash? Many larger keelboats and mid-size sport boats hoist their spinnakers with elastic bands or yarn tied around them so that they can fully hoist the spinnaker before letting the wind into the sail. This led to a Question to ISAF Q&A service about whether these elastic bands were trash.

Q&A 2013-028
Situation
It is common practice to prepare the spinnaker by tying it together with rubber bands at intervals, to prevent the spinnaker from filling during the hoist. Once hoisted and sheeted, the rubber bands will break, the spinnaker will open, and ultimately, the rubber bands will end up in the water.
Question 1: Does this action break new rule 55?
Answer 1: Yes
Question 2: If the answer to Question 1 is yes, would it make any difference if the material used was biodegradable?
Answer 2: No

Q&A 2013-004
Question: Is human excremental matter considered to be trash for the purpose of RRS 55?
Answer: No, human excremental matter is sewage and not trash. Competitors should however note that there may be other laws and regulations that apply.

As you can see, the ISAF Q&A panel said that spinnaker ties were trash and they did break rule 55. They also said that this was still the case even if they were biodegradable. This has led many judges to conclude that other biodegradable materials could also be considered trash. You are probably breaking rule 55 if you throw an apple core over the side or even a cherry pit. Remember this applies at lunch between races as well as during the race, and after, as long as you are still on the water. If someone protests a boat for this and the protest committee concludes that they did break the rule, the only available option is to disqualify the offending boat.

Now I am not going to get into a philosophical or even scientific discussion about the hazards of throwing cherry pits over the side, but I think disqualifying a sailor for throwing a cherry pit over the side is probably a little extreme.  The Sail Canada rule committee is recommending that all regattas consider adding to their sailing instructions. “A boat found in breach of rule 55, at the discretion of the jury, may receive a warning or a penalty up to and including a DNE. This changes 64.1.”  This would allow the protest committee to issue a mild warning for throwing a cherry pit over the side. The protest committee could issue a much more significant penalty for the competitor who deliberately emptied a can of gasoline over his stern.  Hopefully we will see this show up in many sailing instructions and we won’t see Optimist sailors disqualified for throwing the crust from their sandwiches overboard.

One other question came up on the subject and covers a practice that is fairy common in parts of the sailboat racing world. Those kids going for a quick swim beside their Lasers aren’t always doing it just to cool off between races and those sailors hanging off the backstay aren’t always just enjoying the view; small boats don’t have heads. While there may be laws about what gets let over the side, the ISAF panel has concluded that human excremental matter is not trash, so rule 55 does not cover it.

I was asked one other question about this. What happens when a sailor dumps and gear drifts away from the boat and is never retrieved? What happens if a hat blows overboard? As a match-race umpire I have picked up quite a few hats over the years and often managed to return them to their bareheaded owners after the race? They have probably not broken rule 55 when this happens since they have not “intentionally” put the items overboard – but investing in a hat-retainer clip might be good insurance in more ways than one.

© Copyright 2013 Andrew Alberti
Posted: 12/1/2013 4:21:50 PM by Andrew Alberti


Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/8798e230-df0a-4ef0-979a-3cff4bb78e63/December_2013_-_Rules_Changes_IX_-_Trash.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2016 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2017 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-20. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
ABOUT ANDREW ALBERTI
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is a National Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Send your questions to Andrew at kyrules@alberti.ca.

 

ABOUT RCYC: 
166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
 
June 2020 - An Unusual Start
May 2020 - A Big Collision
March/April 2020 - A Three-Boat Finish
January/February 2020 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules V
November/December 2019 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules IV
Post Archive
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)
RSS