March 2015 - Three Boats At The Weather Mark

placeholder image

March 2015 - Three Boats At The Weather Mark

This month, I am going to discuss a situation slightly more complicated than I usually address. This situation involves three boats at the windward mark.



I will start with a two boat situation. Green is approaching the windward mark on starboard. Blue is approaching on port. At position 4, Green starts to tack and by position 5, she has completed her tack inside the three-boat length zone. Blue then luffs to get around the mark, forcing Green to luff above close-hauled. Blue clearly breaks rule 18.3a, since she has passed head to wind within the zone and then caused the other boat to sail above close-hauled.
 
18.3 Tacking in the Zone
If a boat in the zone passes head to wind and is then on the same tack as a boat that is fetching the mark, rule 18.2 does not thereafter apply between them. The boat that changed tack
(a) shall not cause the other boat to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact or prevent the other boat from passing the mark on the required side, and(b) shall give mark-room if the other boat becomes overlapped inside her.



In the second diagram, there is a very similar situation, but with three boats. Blue and Yellow are both approaching on port tack. Both boats pass head to wind within the zone. Both boats complete their tack, then both boats luff. Yellow luffs to clear the mark, and because Yellow is the leeward boat and has right-of-way according to rule 11, Blue is forced to luff to avoid her. Green has to luff to avoid Blue for the same reason. Now because Green has luffed above close-hauled both Blue and Yellow break rule 18.3a. According to rule 64.1 (a), however, Blue is exonerated since she broke rule 18.3(a) as a consequence of Yellow breaking the same rule. Therefore, Blue would not be penalized while Yellow would be. Yellow‘s proper course of action would be to have gone below the mark, or back at position 1 asked Blue for room to go behind Green.
 
11 ON THE SAME TACK, OVERLAPPED
When boats are on the same tack and overlapped, a windward boat shall keep clear of a leeward boat.

64 DECISIONS
64.1 Penalties and Exoneration
However,
(a) when as a consequence of breaking a rule a boat has compelled another boat to break a rule, the other boat shall be exonerated.
 
Copies of these rules articles along with animated diagrams can be found at www.rcyc.ca > sailing > Know Your Rules.

© Copyright 2015 Andrew Alberti
Posted: 2/1/2018 11:25:56 AM by Andrew Alberti


Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/c5cc1e31-567e-4bf0-98d3-59937a8791a1/March_2015_-_Three_Boats_At_The_Weather_Mark.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2016 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2017 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-20. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
ABOUT ANDREW ALBERTI
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is a National Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Send your questions to Andrew at kyrules@alberti.ca.

 

ABOUT RCYC: 
166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
 
June 2020 - An Unusual Start
May 2020 - A Big Collision
March/April 2020 - A Three-Boat Finish
January/February 2020 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules V
November/December 2019 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules IV
Post Archive
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)
RSS