March 2010 - A Few Minor New Rule Changes II

placeholder image

March 2010 - A Few Minor New Rule Changes II

Last month I started discussing this years changes to the rules. There is one final change to discuss this month. The situation described here is one that I can pretty well promise you will never run into. It no longer makes any sense to try it since they have plugged the loophole.Even last year when the loophole existed you would probably only run into it while team racing.  At first when the scenario was suggested people said that it couldn’t be done.  There are however some videos on the web demonstrating that it can be done. US Intercollegiate racing “fixed it” last year because they felt that it was possible. As usual I am only going to explain how the new rule works.If you want further explanation of how the original wording applied to this situation, you will have to either work it out for yourself or attend a seminar and ask me there. I believe that there is a seminar set for the club on March 24th. Further details maybe elsewhere in this Kwasind or on Jmail. Rule 18.2 (c) is changed as follows:
 
18.2(c): When a boat is required to give mark-room by rule 18.2(b), she shall continue to do so even if later an overlap is broken or a new overlap begins. However, if the boat entitled to mark-room passes head to wind or leaves the zone, rule 18.2(b) ceases to apply.

Rule 18.2(b), which wasn’t changed says :
 
18.2 (b) If boats are overlapped when the first of them reaches the zone, the outside boat at that moment shall thereafter give the inside boat mark-room. If a boat is clear ahead when she reaches the zone, the boat clear astern at that moment shall thereafter give her mark-room.



(click on the diagram to see a larger cleaner version)

If we look at the diagram we see two boats approaching a leeward mark, probably in a team race. Yellow gets to the three length zone (it would actually be two in most team races) clear ahead of blue. Closer to the mark she slows down. Blue catches up and then with in the zone does a tack. Since blue is a keen reader of various sources of information about the racing rules, he has heard that a tack will help him so he does a complete tack and gybe within the zone. He then tries to go inside yellow. He hasn’t correctly read the 2010 version of this rule. The rule says that the boat clear ahead at the zone (yellow) is entitled to “mark-room”. It says that it stops applying if the boat entitled to mark room passes head to wind. The boat entitled to mark-room is yellow and she never passes head to wind so she is still entitled to mark-room. Blue is not entitled to mark-room so this clause doesn’t apply to her tack.

© Copyright 2010 Andrew Alberti
 
Posted: 3/1/2010 3:03:28 PM by Andrew Alberti


Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/9664c17e-6613-4da3-9107-342d5f86c0f1/March_2010_-_A_Few_Minor_New_Rule_Changes_II.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2016 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2017 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-20. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
ABOUT ANDREW ALBERTI
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is a National Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Send your questions to Andrew at kyrules@alberti.ca.

 

ABOUT RCYC: 
166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
 
November 2020 - Further down the line at the start
September 2020 - Back to the Usual Start
July 2020 - An Unusual Start II
June 2020 - An Unusual Start
May 2020 - A Big Collision
Post Archive
November 2020(1)
September 2020(1)
July 2020(1)
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)
RSS