November 2011 - Errors At The Finish

placeholder image

November 2011 - Errors At The Finish

I was recently asked a question about finishing and what to do if you make a mistake at the finish.


In the diagram two boats are approaching a leeward mark that they expect to leave to port. All previous marks had been left to port. As the boats approach the mark there is a race committee boat sitting on the port side of the mark flying Code Flag S. Code Flag S is a shorten course flag. 
 
32.2     If the race committee signals a shortened course (displays flag S with two sounds), the finishing line shall be,
(a)        at a rounding mark, between the mark and a staff displaying flag S;
(b)        at a line boats are required to cross at the end of each lap, that line;
(c)        at a gate, between the gate marks.

The shortened course shall be signalled before the first boat crosses the finishing line.
Finish   A boat finishes when any part of her hull, or crew or equipment in nor­­mal position, crosses the finishing line in the direction of the course from the last mark, either for the first time or after taking a penalty under rule 44.2 or, after correcting an error made at the finishing line, under rule 28.1.

28        SAILING THE COURSE

28.1     A boat shall start, leave each mark on the required side in the correct order, and finish, so that a string representing her track after starting and until finishing would when drawn taut
(a)        pass each mark on the required side,
(b)        touch each rounding mark, and
(c)        pass between the marks of a gate from the direction of the previous mark.
She may correct any errors to comply with this rule. After finishing she need not cross the finishing line completely.

31        TOUCHING A MARK
While racing, a boat shall not touch a starting mark before starting, a mark that begins, bounds or ends the leg of the course on which she is sailing, or a finishing mark after finishing.

44.1     Taking a Penalty
A boat may take a Two-Turns Penalty when she may have broken a rule of Part 2 while racing or a One-Turn Penalty when she may have broken rule 31. ….

44.2     One-Turn and Two-Turns Penalties
After getting well clear of other boats as soon after the incident as possible, a boat takes a One-Turn or Two-Turns Penalty by promptly making the required number of turns in the same direction, each turn including one tack and one gybe. When a boat takes the penalty at or near the finishing line, she shall sail completely to the course side of the line before finishing.

According to rule 32.2 the finish line is between the mark and the staff displaying the flag.   According to the definition of finish the boat finishes when she “crosses the finishing line in the direction of the course from the last mark”. The blue boat doesn’t see the shorten course flag or doesn’t realize which direction she should finish. She passes the mark to port and then crosses the line in the wrong direction at position 6. At position eight she finishes since she crosses the line the direction from the last mark. At that point she has broken rule 28.1. If a string following her wake was drawn taut, it would lie outside of the finishing line. If she sailed away at this time she would have finished but she could be disqualified if she was protested for breaking rule 28.1. Instead she goes back around the mark and finishes at position 15. She has corrected an error made at the finishing line, under rule 28.1. Once she finishes at position 15, her crossing at position 8 is no longer a finish. 

The yellow boat spots the shorten course flag and cross the line in the correct direction and finishes at position 5. At position 6 before she has cleared the finishing boat she hits it. Since she hit a mark she breaks rule 31 and has to take a penalty. Her penalty for breaking rule 31 is a “One-Turn Penalty” which has to include a tack and a gybe. The yellow boat tacks between position 7 and 8 and gybes between position 10 and 11. She can then finish.   It is important that she completes her gybe before she crosses the line again.   Her cross after position 11 replaces her cross at position 5 as a finish.

It is obviously easier and quicker to finish correctly the first time, but if for some reason you cross the wrong way or hit a finish mark it is important to know how to correct your error.

© Copyright 2011 Andrew Alberti
 
Posted: 11/1/2011 1:34:38 PM by Andrew Alberti


Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/d691cc64-a86e-4706-801b-944873e48443/November_2011_-_Errors_At_The_Finish.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2016 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2017 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-20. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
ABOUT ANDREW ALBERTI
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is a National Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Send your questions to Andrew at kyrules@alberti.ca.

 

ABOUT RCYC: 
166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
 
June 2020 - An Unusual Start
May 2020 - A Big Collision
March/April 2020 - A Three-Boat Finish
January/February 2020 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules V
November/December 2019 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules IV
Post Archive
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)
RSS