November 2016 - Room At The Finish

placeholder image

November 2016 - Room At The Finish

Last month we were talking about starting lines. This month I would like to talk about finishing lines. I am sometimes asked, “Is there mark-room at the finishing line?” The answer is fairly simple. Yes, there is mark-room at the finishing marks. No, there is no mark-room for the line itself. 

I think the reason that some people are confused is that there is no mark-room at a starting mark, so people assume that this applies at the finish as well. It doesn’t. Mark-room is covered in rule 18. Rule 18 is part of Section C of Part 2 of the Racing Rules Of Sailing. The preamble to Section C says that the Section C rules, “…do not apply at a starting mark surrounded by navigable water… from the time boats are approaching them to start until they have passed them.” There is no similar exclusion for finishing marks, so rule 18 does apply. The first part of rule 18 says that it applies between boats when required to leave a mark on the same side. Both ends of the finishing line are marks, so rule 18 applies at either end. 



In the diagram, we see Blue and Yellow, and Red and Green fighting separate battles as they approach the finishing line, Looking first at Blue and Yellow, Yellow is on starboard tack and Blue is on port tack. At position 1, they are still outside the zone of the committee boat (a finishing mark). Blue has to gybe to starboard tack to keep clear of Yellow. At position 2, Blue is the windward boat so she has to keep clear of Yellow. Just after position 2, they enter the zone overlapped. Yellow is now required to give mark-room to Blue. Mark-room includes room to sail to the mark and then a proper course round (or past) it. Although bearing off will take Yellow onto a lower course than she would like, she must do so at position 4 to give Blue the required room..

Red and Green start off in a very similar situation to Blue and Yellow, but here we see the effect of having zones around the marks that define the line, and the absence of a zone beyond their three-boatlength circles. At position 1, Red is on port tack approaching Green on starboard tack. At positon 2, Red has gybed; being the windward boat, she still has to keep clear, and she’ll carry this obligation to the end. As both boats are well outside the zone, Green does not have to give Red mark-room. Green luffs Red so that she can try to finish ahead of Red. At position 6, Red does get into the zone and since she is overlapped with Green, she is now entitled to mark-room  but it doesn’t help her get what she really wanted, a finish ahead of Green. 

At positon 2, Red has gybed; being the windward boat, she still has to keep clear, and she’ll carry this obligation to the end. As both boats are well outside the zone, Green does not have to give Red mark-room. Green luffs Red so that she can try to finish ahead of Red. At position 6, Red does get into the zone and since she is overlapped with Green, she is now entitled to mark-room  but it doesn’t help her get what she really wanted, a finish ahead of Green. 

 
Mark
An object the sailing instructions require a boat to leave on a specified side, and a race committee boat surrounded by navigable water from which the starting or finishing line extends. An anchor line or an object attached accidentally to a mark is not part of it.

Mark-Room
Room for a boat to leave a mark on the required side. Also,
(a) room to sail to the mark when her proper course is to sail close to it, and
(b) room to round the mark as necessary to sail the course.
However, mark-room for a boat does not include room to tack unless she is overlapped inside and to windward of the boat required to give mark-room and she would be fetching the mark after her tack.

SECTION C
AT MARKS AND OBSTRUCTIONS

Section C rules do not apply at a starting mark surrounded by navigable water or at its anchor line from the time boats are approaching them to start until they have passed them.

18 MARK-ROOM
18.1 When Rule 18 Applies
Rule 18 applies between boats when they are required to leave a mark on the same side and at least one of them is in the zone…..

© Copyright 2016 Andrew Alberti
Posted: 11/1/2016 1:42:50 PM by Andrew Alberti


Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/b12a67ae-1bf1-43a4-856c-3512f49c4c28/November_2016_-_Room_At_The_Finish.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2016 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2017 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-20. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
ABOUT ANDREW ALBERTI
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is a National Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Send your questions to Andrew at kyrules@alberti.ca.

 

ABOUT RCYC: 
166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
 
June 2020 - An Unusual Start
May 2020 - A Big Collision
March/April 2020 - A Three-Boat Finish
January/February 2020 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules V
November/December 2019 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules IV
Post Archive
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)
RSS