October 2010 - Tacking Too Close - On The Course

placeholder image

October 2010 - Tacking Too Close - On The Course

Before I start this month’s article I want to bring back a phrase from my last article. “The best sailors and the best sportsmen and sportswomen are those who help their competitors to learn not those who intimidate their competition.”  I can’t think of a better example of this than our recent Vice Commodore Fleet Fred Eaton. You hopefully are reading elsewhere in this issue about his recent win of the International C Class Catamaran Championship (often known as the Little America’s Cup) held in August in Newport. Fred and Magus Clarke and their entire support team put on an impressive display of sailing at the event, but just as impressive is the effort that Fred put into building the event and the class. He recognized that winning without competition is no fun so he arranged for one of his boats to be sailed by a frequent catamaran (Tornado, A Class and F18) world champion Glenn Ashby and America’s Cup skipper James Spithill and another to be sailed by Antoine Koch and the world speed record holder Jérémie Lagarrigue. 

I have been asked a few questions recently and I will use them as the basis for the next several articles.   I may try to answer some of them more quickly and more directly on the website. Go to http://www.rcyc.ca/Doc-Types/Know-Your-Rules.aspx.   You can send me questions at kyrules@alberti.ca. I don’t promise a quick answer but I will try to get to them all.

The first topic suggested by the questions is the subject of tacking too close at the weather mark. To discuss this, we first have to take away the mark and look at tacking too close.   The rules that first come into play are rule 13 and rule 15.
 
13 WHILE TACKING
After a boat passes head to wind, she shall keep clear of other boats until she is on a close-hauled course. During that time rules 10, 11 and 12 do not apply. If two boats are subject to this rule at the same time, the one on the other’s port side or the one astern shall keep clear.

15 ACQUIRING RIGHT OF WAY
When a boat acquires right of way, she shall initially give the other boat room to keep clear, unless she acquires right of way because of the other boat’s actions.



(click on the diagram to see a larger cleaner version)

In the first diagram the green boat on starboard is approaching the red boat on port. The red boat decides to tack right in front of the green boat. Rule 13 starts at position 3 when the red boat crosses head to wind. It ends when the red boat gets to a close course which in this diagram is at position 4. This was part of one of the questions I was asked recently. You will notice at position 4 red’s sail is still flapping. That does not matter. She is still on a close hauled course. This is probably the same angle off the wind she was sailing before she tacked. It is probably about the same course that green is sailing. It is the same course that she will sail after she brings in her sails. It is probably about 40 degrees off the true wind. 

In the diagram by position 4 green has already had to alter course to windward by position 4. This means that red broke rule 13. She “tacked to close”.



(click on the diagram to see a larger cleaner version)

In the second diagram we have a very similar situation. This time blue is trying to tack in front of yellow. Blue is slightly further ahead. At position 4 when blue completes her tack and is on a close hauled course, yellow is directly astern of her and has not yet altered course. At this position rule 13 turns off. Blue becomes right of way as the boat clear ahead (rule 12). Yellow is going slight faster. At position 5 yellow has altered course to windward to avoid blue. According to rule 15 blue who acquired right of way at position 4 has to give yellow room to keep clear. Since yellow does keep clear, she is able to keep clear. As long as yellow doesn’t have to alter course until after blue is on a close hauled course and as long as yellow’s required alteration of course does not have to be unseamanlike (a crash tack for example) blue has not tacked too close.

© Copyright 2010 Andrew Alberti
 
Posted: 10/1/2010 2:36:18 PM by Andrew Alberti


Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/a345f9ba-f91a-43f9-b6e5-5f6d54a07881/October_2010_-_Tacking_Too_Close_-_On_The_Course.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2016 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2017 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-20. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
ABOUT ANDREW ALBERTI
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is a National Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Send your questions to Andrew at kyrules@alberti.ca.

 

ABOUT RCYC: 
166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
 
June 2020 - An Unusual Start
May 2020 - A Big Collision
March/April 2020 - A Three-Boat Finish
January/February 2020 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules V
November/December 2019 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules IV
Post Archive
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)
RSS