RCYC WOMEN IN SAILING 


 
The RCYC Women’s Sailing program offers social sailing on Mondays for beginner to intermediate sailors, and further skill training for women interested in racing on Tuesdays.  
 
Women’s Sailing has become one of the most popular and thriving recreational programs on the island. Open to all female RCYC Members, this weekly program provides a great opportunity to meet other Club Members while improving sailing skills on and off the water. All levels of sailors are welcome to join this inviting community and find out why this program keeps expanding!
 
In our Social Sailing program, beginner to intermediate sailors practice the fundamentals of sailing in an Ideal 18, a small dinghy with a fixed keel for stability. With two to three women in a boat, sailors gain experience in sail trim, boat handling and safety in different conditions to build confidence in sailing. Most importantly, this is a fun program on Monday evenings intended for women looking for a relaxed, social environment and an opportunity to increase their sailing abilities.
 
For more experienced sailors, the more advanced Women’s Racing program was introduced in 2015. Sailors use the Ideal 18 fleet to improve boat handling and spinnaker work while learning race tactics. This group trains with the goal to participate in Thursday night races, club regattas, and RCYC Women’s Club Championships at the end of the season. In 2019, each Tuesday evening will focus on a specific skill depending on weather conditions and will open as a co-ed program for the majority of the summer. With one month-long session dedicated to women only, this approachable weekly training session invites sailors looking to jump into the world of racing and make some new connections along the way.
 
FAQ and Details for the 2019 Season:
 
Evening sessions include brief lessons from instructors at the dock at 6:00 before heading out on the water, and an in-depth debrief in the Clubhouse. All sailors are encourage to catch the 5:15 ferry to be ready on time, with the 5:45 ferry as the final boat. Most women return home on the 9:00 ferry after debriefing, or stay late for socializing.
 
There is no previous experience required to join our Social Sailing program. Women of all skill levels are welcome! Our friendly instructors will work to build confidence in the boat and will encourage sailors to keep adding to their skillset every week. CANSail levels will be available as an option to track progress through the year.
 
Sailors are required to wear lifejackets/PFDs while on the water.
 
Mark your calendars with the Spring Work Party and Women's Sailing Orientation! These weekend dates are important for new and returning sailors to the program. You will learn about the boat before your first sail, and get your first introduction to the great community of RCYC Members involved throughout the season.
 
Women's Racing is a step up from the Monday social program, fulfilling the needs of sailors eager to move towards racing but enjoy the camaraderie of training partners. This weekly Tuesday night coaching session works to improve skills important for skippers and crew. New this season, there will be 4-week sessions for women as well as co-ed sessions to open the doors to all RCYC sailors!
 
REGISTER HERE
 
Please contact Jenny Farrand with any questions at jennifer.farrand@rcyc.ca or 416-967-7245 ext 590.

 

2019 Calendar

Open House

Thursday, March 28 - Ideal 18 Fleet
Friday, April 5 - Sailebration

 

Spring Work Party

Saturday, April 27

Saturday, May 4

 

NEW Spring Social Sailing

Monday, May 6

Monday, May 13

 

Racing Clinics

Wednesday, May 22 - Rust Remover at City Club

Saturday, May 25 - Rust Remover On-Water Practice

 

Women's Sailing Orientation

Sunday, May 26 - New and Returning Sailors


Women's Social Sailing
 

Session 1

Monday, May 27

Monday, June 3

Monday, June 10

Monday, June 17

Monday, June 24

Monday, July 1 - CANSail Afternoon Clinic

Monday, July 8

 

Session 2

Monday, July 15

Monday, July 22

Monday, July 29

Monday, August 5 - CANSail Afternoon Clinic

Monday, August 12

Monday, August 19

Monday, August 26
 

Race Training
 

Session 1 - Women Only

Tuesday, June 4 - Boat Speed

Tuesday, June 11 - Boat Handling

Tuesday, June 18 - Tactics

Tuesday, June 25

 

Session 2 - Open

Tuesday, July 9 - Boat Speed

Tuesday, July 16 - Boat Handling

Tuesday, July 23 - Tactics

Tuesday, July 30

 

Session 3 - Open

Tuesday, August 6 - Boat Speed

Tuesday, August 13 - Boat Handling

Tuesday, August 20 - Tactics

Tuesday, August 27

 

Fall Social Sailing

Monday, September 9

Monday, September 16

 

Regattas

Sunday, September 15 - Women's Club Championships: McConkey Cup

 

Ideal 18 End of Year Banquet

Friday, September 27

 

Fall Work Party

Saturday, October 12

2018 Women's Sailing Committee

Michele Clemo
Lynn Dee Cuthbertson
Julie Seymour
Jenny Farrand