April 2010 - A Basic Rule

placeholder image

April 2010 - A Basic Rule

I spent a lot of time looking at the finer details of the rules. It seems however that many of the major problems on the water are in situations around the most basic rules. In the past few years I have seen several protests and appeals from collisions where the only rule really involved was on rule 10.
 
10        ON OPPOSITE TACKS
When boats are on opposite tacks, a port-tack boat shall keep clear of a starboard-tack boat.

This is a rule that most people know. What I find however is that many people are concentrating on their own competition and forget about the other fleets on the course. They forget that port-starboard situations develop between boats on different legs.



The first diagram shows three places on the course that often develop these situations. The yellow boat has rounded the weather mark and started down the first reach. She is on starboard. The blue boat is still heading towards the weather mark and is on port.   She has to keep clear.

The Red boat has rounded the gybe mark and gybed onto port. The green boat is early on the weather leg and on starboard. Red has to keep clear.
 
The black boat is coming to leeward on a direct leeward leg. She is on port tack and must keep clear of white on starboard. All of these are fairly obvious but it easy to forget to watch out for them. Since the boats are sailing towards each other, the closing speed can be pretty high so a collision can be serious.



The next diagram shows a situation where sometimes people forget which tack they are on. All of the boats are sailing directly downwind. All of the boats are on starboard except orange. If orange had her main on the other side she would be right of way (clear ahead) over pink and right of way (leeward) over grey.   It would be worth her while gybing but she has waited too long. Right now if she gybed her boom would probably hit purple.



(click on the diagram to see a larger cleaner version)

In my final diagram I wanted to show two things. The first is that port starboard situations appear even at highest (or at least highest price) end of the sport. The black boat (USA) is on starboard. The white boat (Alinghi) is on port. This situation happened at the start of the first race of the 33rd America’s Cup. Alinghi got a penalty for not keeping clear. The second thing I am showing is a new diagram drawing program that actually has catamarans. I wanted to try it in honour of our retiring Vice Commodore Fleet and C-Class Catamaran champion Fred Eaton. Unfortunately while the program does have catamarans it does not have trimarans.   Maybe Larry Ellison can offer some programming support to develop one.

© Copyright 2010 Andrew Alberti
 
Posted: 4/1/2010 3:00:12 PM by Andrew Alberti


Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/606f319c-8941-4e92-a6a6-f3503b125d55/April_2010_-_A_Basic_Rule.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2016 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2017 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-20. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
ABOUT ANDREW ALBERTI
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is a National Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Send your questions to Andrew at kyrules@alberti.ca.

 

ABOUT RCYC: 
166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
 
Penalties – When and How to Take Them
New Rule Changes III
Mark Room at a Gybe Mark
March/April 2021 - New Rule Changes II
January/February 2021 - New Rule Changes
Post Archive
October 2021(0)
October 2021(1)
August 2021(2)
May/June 2021(0)
March/April 2021(1)
January/February 2021(1)
December 2020(1)
November 2020(1)
September 2020(1)
July 2020(1)
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)
RSS