Posted: 8/1/2011 1:49:32 PM
Last month I discussed the situation at a leeward mark where a starboard-tack boat has to give room to a port-tack boat. Before I continue with situations where starboard tack has to give way to port tack, I want to show two situations that may seem similar to last month but which are not. In last month’s situation, starboard had to give “mark-room” to port according to rule 18.2. Rule 18.1 describes when rule 18 applies and more importantly where it does not.
by Andrew Alberti
This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2016 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2017 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-20. A copy of the new rules can be found on
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is a National Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

Send your questions to Andrew at


166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse