January 2014 - Rules Changes X - Mark Room

placeholder image

January 2014 - Rules Changes X - Mark Room

Last month I talked about one of the rule changes that led to a lot of discussion and some controversial interpretations.  This month I am going to talk about a change in different rule that has also led to a lot of discussion.

Mark-Room
Room for a boat to leave a mark on the required side. Also,
(a) room to sail to the mark when her proper course is to sail close to it, and
(b) room to round the mark as necessary to sail the course.

However, mark-room for a boat does not include room to tack unless she is overlapped inside and to windward of the boat required to give mark-room and she would be fetching the mark after her tack.

Mark-Room is always the most difficult part of the rule book.  The number of different situations that can happen at marks continues to challenge the rule makers.  This month I am going to focus on the change from “room to sail her proper course while at the mark” to “room to round the mark as necessary to sail the course” in the definition of mark-room.  This change was introduced to avoid some confusion in situations where give-way boats entitled to mark-room (for example an inside windward boat at a leeward mark) were entitled to “room to sail to the mark” as they sailed to the mark and then suddenly room to sail their proper course when they were at the mark.



In the diagram at position 2, the Yellow boat might like to sail lower to sail “wide and close” around the mark, but she is the give-way boat and only entitled to room to sail to the mark.  At position 4, she is at the mark, so she can sail her proper course, but from there her proper course is just to head up to a close-hauled course.  At position 7, she is now the leeward right-of-way boat and she is above her proper course.  She is allowed to luff up like this but she must do it in a way which gives the Blue boat room to keep clear.  In the 2009-2012 rules, she is not longer given special exoneration by the mark-room rule since she has sailed above her proper course.  In the 2013-2013 rules she is not “sailing her course”, so again she is not given special exoneration.  The two versions of the rules have the same effect.



In the diagram, the Green boat is clear ahead at the zone.  She sails a little high getting to the mark and then at position 5, starts to bear off.  At position 6, she is on the course she would probably sail on starboard.  After that she gybes to sail on port.  When she gybes, she gybes right in front of the white boat.  She is altering course in a way which doesn’t give White room to keep clear so she breaks rule 16.  She also ends up on port tack, so is breaking rule 10. Under the 2009-2012 rules, it could be argued that she was still rounding the mark and that she was sailing her proper course and so she should be exonerated.  There has been a lot of discussion about this situation under the 2013-2016 rules.   The general conclusion is that at position 6, she was taking the “room to round the mark as necessary to sail the course” but that any further alteration down and into a gybe at position 7, was no longer the course necessary to sail the course. 

For any of you who are interested in the rules (and you must have some interest to have kept reading this far) there will be an introductory judges seminar at the Club on January 18th.  I will be helping Wendy Loat from Ontario Sailing teach the course.  Please consider registering.  Registration information can be found at http://www.rcyc.ca/Doc-Types/Winter-Sailing-Seminars.aspx.

© Copyright 2013 Andrew Alberti
Posted: 1/1/2014 10:30:16 AM by Andrew Alberti


Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/13ef33ae-78da-4092-b5e7-bfd7cdf8baa3/January_2014_-_Rules_Changes_X_-_Mark_Room.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2016 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2017 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-20. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
ABOUT ANDREW ALBERTI
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is a National Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Send your questions to Andrew at kyrules@alberti.ca.

 

ABOUT RCYC: 
166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
 
Penalties – When and How to Take Them
New Rule Changes III
Mark Room at a Gybe Mark
March/April 2021 - New Rule Changes II
January/February 2021 - New Rule Changes
Post Archive
October 2021(0)
October 2021(1)
August 2021(2)
May/June 2021(0)
March/April 2021(1)
January/February 2021(1)
December 2020(1)
November 2020(1)
September 2020(1)
July 2020(1)
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)
RSS