September/October 2019 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules III

placeholder image

September/October 2019 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules III

In the past two issues we have been doing an overview of the right-of-way rules. In the first, we did a review of Section A of Part 2, in the second we did a review of the definitions. This issue, we will look at Section B of Part 2, General Limitations, which is essentially limitations applying to boats that have right of way according to Section A.




A boat shall avoid contact with another boat if reasonably possible. However, a right-of-way boat or one entitled to room or mark-room

(a) need not act to avoid contact until it is clear that the other boat is not keeping clear or giving room or mark-room, and

(b) shall be exonerated if she breaks this rule and the contact does not cause damage or injury.


When a boat acquires right of way, she shall initially give the other boat room to keep clear, unless she acquires right of way because of the other boat’s actions.


16.1 When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other boat room to keep clear.

16.2 In addition, when after the starting signal a port-tack boat is keeping clear by sailing to pass astern of a starboard-tack boat, the starboard-tack boat shall not change course if as a result the port-tack boat would immediately need to change course to continue keeping clear.


If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails astern of the other boat. This rule does not apply if the overlap begins while the windward boat is required by rule 13 to keep clear.

There are four restrictions or limitations. The first (rule 14) says to avoid contact, even if you are the right-of-way boat. The more detailed subsections explain when the right-of-way boat will or will not be exonerated if it fails to avoid contact, but the key point is, if the give-way boat is not going to avoid contact, then the right-of-way boat should. The second restriction (rule 15) says, if you become the right-of-way boat, you have to give the other boat time to keep clear.
The two most common examples of the transition from give-way to right-of-way are shown in the diagram. Blue at position 1 is clear astern, so must keep clear. At position 2, Blue has established an overlap to leeward so Blue now has right of way over Yellow. At position 3, Yellow tries to luff up to get out of the way. While doing so she makes contact with Blue. Blue did not give Yellow room to keep clear when Blue became the right-of-way boat – Blue is thus at fault.
Red is on port tack at position 1 while Green is on starboard, so according to rule 10, Red must keep clear, which she decides to do by tacking. The rules have a narrow definition of “tacking” – it’s the action between being head-to-wind and being settled on a close-hauled course; boatspeed and state of trim of the sails are irrelevant. Between position 2, when she is head to wind, and position 3, when she is on a close-hauled course, Red is tacking, so Red must keep clear according to rule 13. At position 3, Red has reached a close-hauled course, so she has completed her tack, and is now clear ahead of Green. Green must now keep clear of Red according to rule 12. The obligation for Green to keep clear does not begin until Red has achieved a close-hauled course. In this diagram, Red has not given Green time to keep clear before Green hits Red on the transom. Red, like Blue has now broken rule 15.

The next rule in Section B (rule 16) talks about right-of-way boats altering course. Sometimes you hear give-way boats yelling “Hold your course” and some people believe this is a governing hail, but is more of a plea than an order; no rule forces right-of-way boats to hold their course. Right-of-way boats can alter their course, but they have to give the give-way boats room to keep clear. The most common form of this is a leeward boat luffing a windward boat, but it can be almost any other right-of-way boat as well. There are special restrictions, in rule 16.2, that cover boats on opposite tacks, usually on a windward leg.
The final rule in Section B (rule 17) puts restrictions on boats that establish overlaps to leeward. The Blue boat in our diagram establishes an overlap to leeward from clear astern. Since Blue gained an overlap to leeward, Blue is prohibited from sailing above her proper course. She can luff up to her proper course even if she starts below that, but she can’t go above it.

Posted: 1/13/2020 8:42:53 AM by Andrew Alberti | with 0 comments

Trackback URL:

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2020 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 or 2017-2020 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2021 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2021-24. A copy of the new rules can be found on
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is an International Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

Send your questions to Andrew at [email protected].


166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
After You Cross the Finishing Line II
After You Cross The Finishing Line I
Tacking III
Tacking II
Publication Changes and Tacking
Post Archive
July 2024(0)
July 2024(1)
May 2024(0)
May 2024(2)
March 2024(1)
February 2024(1)
May 2023(1)
September 2023(1)
September 2023(0)
May 2023(0)
January 2023(1)
April 2022(1)
December 2021(1)
October 2021(1)
August 2021(2)
March/April 2021(1)
January/February 2021(1)
December 2020(1)
November 2020(1)
September 2020(1)
July 2020(1)
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)