July 2016 - Rounding Marks To Starboard

placeholder image

July 2016 - Rounding Marks To Starboard

This month is a very busy month for match racing at RCYC. As well as the usual weekly program, the Canada’s Cup Defender Trials will be held July 1-3 and July 15-17 in Modern 8 Metres and the York Cup will be held July 9-10 in Sonars. If you go out to watch any of these races, you will notice is that they round the marks to starboard. 

Although there is nothing in the rules that says that you can’t, fleet races are almost never raced with buoys to starboard. Races run around fixed marks may require rounding that way, but races run in open water with marks set for the race are almost always buoys-to-port. I hope the explanation here will show you what happens under the rules if you do have to race that way. I need to mention that match racing uses slightly different rules so the explanation below does not apply completely to match racing. 
In a buoys-to-port fleet race, the boats that approach on the starboard-tack layline are pretty safe. They can sail in to the mark, concentrating preparing the spinnaker or on easing sheets. Anyone approaching on the opposite tack will have to avoid them.



In the buoys-to-starboard situation shown in the diagram, Red is on port tack, preparing to ease off. Green, approaching on starboard, crosses her at position 4 and tacks in front of and slightly to weather of Red. Rule 13 requires Green to keep clear while she is tacking. Once Green has finished her tack – which is within three boat lengths of the mark – rule 18.3(b) requires her to give mark-room to Red. Red ends up inside and slightly ahead of Green. If Green had tried to tack a little earlier, then she might have forced Red to sail above close-hauled and Green would have broken rule 18.3(a). Either way Green does not do very well. 



In the second diagram, Yellow and Blue start in the same relative positions as Green and Red in the previous diagram. This time though, Yellow slows down a little but does not tack at position 4. She keeps sailing on starboard tack. Since Blue is on port tack, she is required to keep clear. Since Yellow slowed down, Blue is not able to go behind her and if she did, she would probably not lay the mark so Blue is forced to tack. Soon after Blue tacks to starboard, Yellow tacks to port. Blue follows. Blue has now done two tacks and so is slower than Yellow, who has done only one. Blue is also behind Yellow. This all works fairly well with only two boats. If there are other boats on either layline, this can become very chaotic and keep the protest committees very busy. 

It’s imperative to recognize that rule 10, port-starboard, is the governing rule here. Although we are within the three-boatlength circle, rule 18, the mark-room rule does not apply at a weather mark between boats on opposite tacks, so it does not come into play in this meeting.  If you do find yourself in a race involving starboard-hand roundings, keep this page in mind – and watch out for those who think they know better.

Incidentally, you won’t see starboard roundings in our midweek races. Many years ago, our midweek sailing instructions used to have a description of a green flag which indicated that the race was to be run buoys-to-starboard. It had not been used for quite a long time. I had it removed from the instructions since I didn’t want someone to try it one day “just for fun.”
10 ON OPPOSITE TACKS
When boats are on opposite tacks, a port-tack boat shall keep clear of a starboard-tack boat.

13 WHILE TACKING
After a boat passes head to wind, she shall keep clear of other boats until she is on a close-hauled course. During that time rules 10, 11 and 12 do not apply. If two boats are subject to this rule at the same time, the one on the other’s port side or the one astern shall keep clear.

18.3 Tacking in the Zone
If a boat in the zone passes head to wind and is then on the same tack as a boat that is fetching the mark, rule

18.2 does not thereafter apply between them. The boat that changed tack

© Copyright 2016 Andrew Alberti
Posted: 7/1/2016 1:27:48 PM by Andrew Alberti


Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/d984961d-7a47-485d-86c2-908c1d841435/July_2016_-_Rounding_Marks_To_Starboard.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2016 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2017 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-20. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
ABOUT ANDREW ALBERTI
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is a National Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Send your questions to Andrew at kyrules@alberti.ca.

 

ABOUT RCYC: 
166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
 
June 2020 - An Unusual Start
May 2020 - A Big Collision
March/April 2020 - A Three-Boat Finish
January/February 2020 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules V
November/December 2019 - An Overview of the Right-of-Way Rules IV
Post Archive
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)
RSS