Penalties and Sportsmanship

placeholder image

Penalties and Sportsmanship

I had the privilege of judging at multiple events this year.  I noticed something new this year.  I ran into quite a few RCYC judges while travelling to regattas outside of the club.  Aside from our two International Judges, Lynne Beal and Pat Healy who serve all over the world, I also ran into Andrew Van Nostrand, Dale King, David Dunphy, Heather Macnaughton, Margaret Samuel, my son Peter Alberti and Scott Collinson serving as judges at a variety of events.  This is, in my opinion a great development in the involvement of RCYC in the wider sailing community. 

In the article published in October 2021 issue of this newsletter, I talked about how to take penalties. This month I want to talk about sportsmanship issues including when to take penalties. The rules of the game are pretty clear, if you break a rule, you need to take the appropriate penalty. This is listed very early in the rule book before any of the numbered rules under the title “Basic Principles – Sportsmanship and the Rules”. It says, “A fundamental principle of sportsmanship is that when a boat breaks a rule and is not exonerated she will promptly take an appropriate penalty or action, which may be to retire.”
If you misjudge a mark rounding and hit the mark, you have broken rule 31. You need to take a penalty. If you are on port tack and attempt to cross a starboard-tack boat, but they have to bear off to avoid you, you have broken rule 10. It doesn’t matter if the other boat hails protest or not. If you know that you broke a rule, you need to take a penalty. World Sailing Case 138, Question 3 describes exactly this situation. It is not an act of misconduct to attempt to cross on port if you think you can make it, but it is a breach of sportsmanship if you misjudge and then don’t take the penalty.
Sometimes you don’t know whether you broke a rule. You might need to look up the rule or discuss it with someone. Once you have done that, you need to take the appropriate penalty. It might be too late to do a two-turns penalty. Some races, particularly where the Notice of Race or Sailing Instructions say that Appendix T (Arbitration) is being used, allow you to take a 30% penalty after the race. If that alternative penalty is not available, you might need to notify the race committee that you are retiring from the race.
If you know that you were over the line early, but the committee does not signal it properly (e.g., they display the recall flag, but don’t make the required sound signal), you need to return and start properly. If you don’t know that you were over, you have the right to wait for the correct recall signals.
Most sailboat racing is run without judges on the water. Even if there are judges on the water, they can’t be everywhere and see everything. They may be focused on enforcing Rule 42 Propulsion, particularly if Appendix P of the Racing Rules of Sailing is in force. In general, sailing is a self policing sport, not a refereed sport. Dave Perry is a well-known and very successful sailor, match racer, coach and teacher. In an interview many years ago (you can find it here), he said, “In addition to sailing within the rules, another strong signal that you respect the game is taking your penalties. Part of sportsmanship is knowing that, since there are no referees or umpires, the game needs people to take their penalties. When you do that, people really trust you.”
Sportsmanship is part of the sport and should be self-applied. It is also covered in the rules. Rule 2 says “A boat and her owner shall compete in compliance with recognized principles of sportsmanship and fair play”. If it can be demonstrated that you knew that you broke a rule and did not take your penalty, you will not only be disqualified for breaking the rule that you broke, but for breaking Rule 2. A disqualification for breaking Rule 2 results in a disqualification that cannot be excluded from your results (a DNE) instead of the normal disqualification which can be discarded if there is a drop race.
If have heard sailors say, “I knew that I broke the rule, but I never heard the other boat yell protest, so I knew that his protest would not be valid, so I sailed on” or “my coach told me not to do my penalty, I probably would not be protested.” These are both examples of breaking Rule 2.
The great Olympic Sailor Paul Elvström said, “You have not won the race, if in winning the race you have lost the respect of your competitors.” Sportsmanship is critical not only to comply with Rule 2, but to make the game worth playing. Dave Perry in the same interview quoted above said, “Since sportsmanship is about respecting the game, I think it’s important to be a good sport; otherwise sailing won’t be very pleasurable, and people will stop doing it.”
So remember, it is not whether you win or lose but how you sail the race.
Basic Principles
Competitors in the sport of sailing are governed by a body of rules that they are expected to follow and enforce. A fundamental principle of sportsmanship is that when a boat
breaks a rule and is not exonerated she will promptly take an appropriate penalty or action, which may be to retire.
A boat and her owner shall compete in compliance with recognized principles of sportsmanship and fair play. A boat may be penalized under this rule only if it is clearly established that these principles have been violated. The penalty shall be a disqualification that is not excludable.
4.1 (a) By participating or intending to participate in an event conducted under the rules, each competitor and boat owner agrees to accept the rules.
World Sailing Case 138
Facts for Question 3
A boat is sailing upwind on port tack and attempts to cross ahead of a boat on starboard tack. The port-tack boat misjudges the cross and fails to keep clear.
Question 3
Has the port-tack boat intentionally broken a rule?
Answer 3
No. A misjudgment such as this is common during a race and is not unfair sailing or an act of misconduct. In order for it to be unfair sailing or an act of misconduct, there must be evidence that the boat knew or should have known that she would not make the cross and attempted to do so anyway. However, when the port-tack boat realizes that she has failed to keep clear, she has knowingly broken a rule and must take the appropriate penalty. Otherwise she has broken a recognized principle of sportsmanship (see the
first Basic Principle, Sportsmanship and the Rules).
Posted: 1/16/2023 11:38:13 AM by Andrew Alberti | with 0 comments

Trackback URL:

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2020 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 or 2017-2020 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2021 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2021-24. A copy of the new rules can be found on
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is an International Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

Send your questions to Andrew at [email protected].


166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
After You Cross The Finishing Line I
Tacking III
Tacking II
Publication Changes and Tacking
How to Finish
Post Archive
May 2024(0)
May 2024(2)
March 2024(1)
February 2024(1)
May 2023(1)
September 2023(1)
September 2023(0)
May 2023(0)
January 2023(1)
April 2022(1)
December 2021(1)
October 2021(1)
August 2021(2)
March/April 2021(1)
January/February 2021(1)
December 2020(1)
November 2020(1)
September 2020(1)
July 2020(1)
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)