Mark Room at a Gybe Mark

placeholder image

Mark Room at a Gybe Mark

Two issues ago, I started a discussion of mark-room at a gybe mark. I presented some fairly common scenarios that appear when two boats approach a gybe mark and round together. I am going to continue that discussion this month with some slightly more complicated situations.

At position 1 in the diagram, Yellow and Red are sailing on a starboard-tack reach toward a gybe mark, with Red to leeward and slightly overlapped with Yellow. Yellow does not want to give mark-room to Red, so she heads up a bit to increase her speed and break the overlap. At position 2, 3 and 4, Yellow has broken the overlap and is clear ahead of Red. At position 4, thinking that she has reached the zone (three hull lengths from the mark), Yellow hails “No Overlap, No Room” and heads down toward the mark. At position 5, there is now an overlap and Yellow actually gets to the zone. Red believes the hail and heads up to get outside of Yellow. It is quite hard to judge the three hull length zone, so Yellow’s presumptuously early hail is not surprising. In this case, we have a third boat, Blue, who is farther behind. At position 5, Blue has a much better view of Yellow’s distance from the mark. She can use her view of Yellow’s hull as a scale and can clearly see that Yellow has just got to the zone. She can also see not only that Red has overlap, but Blue does as well. In this case, Blue is far enough away that her valid claim for mark-room is irrelevant, but she would be a good witness if Red had decided to go inside.

In the second diagram, Green and Purple approach an offset mark with Green ahead and about two boat lengths to weather of Purple. When Green gets to the zone at about position 2, she is clear ahead of Purple and entitled to mark-room. Green continues to sail on her original course until at position 4, she turns down sharply toward the mark. Purple tries to go inside and ends up contacting the mark. Once they become overlapped at position 4, Purple is the leeward boat and therefore has right of way. Green was entitled to mark-room, though, and from position 4 onwards is sailing her proper course to and around the mark. She is therefore exonerated for breaking rule 11. Even if her sudden alteration of course between position 3 and 4 makes it impossible for Purple to keep clear, which breaks rule 16, Green is exonerated for breaking that as well. The exoneration is covered in rule 43.1(b). I was inspired to write this article based on a video of radiocontrolled boats racing sent to me by a Club Member. The link shows a slightly different situation – the marks are being rounded to starboard and the race is governed by Appendix E, Radio Sailing Rules. For our purposes, those rules are the same except that the zone is four hull lengths. It is an interesting video but it is not entirely clear whether the two boats are overlapped when the first boat gets to four hull lengths from the mark. While I recommend watching the video, I recommend caution reading the comments. There are some pretty strange interpretations of the rules expressed in some of them. A reader of the May/June article, “New Rule Changes III” pointed out an important omission in my discussion of the rules’ requirement for competitors and support persons to give all possible assistance. He pointed out that, “Apart from these Rules which apply while racing, failure to provide assistance to those in distress at any time [my emphasis] could result in a charge under the Canada Shipping Act. So do unto others as you would like them to do for you.” While this article ends 25 years of writing this series, I continue to welcome questions and/or suggestions for topics – it is sometimes a challenge for me to figure out what to write about.


Mark-Room Room for a boat to leave a mark on the required side. Also,
(a) room to sail to the mark when her proper course is to sail close to it, and
(b) room to round or pass the mark as necessary to sail the course without touching the mark.
However, mark-room for a boat does not include room to tack unless she is overlapped inside and to windward of the boat required to give mark-room and she would be fetching the mark after her tack.
Zone The area around a mark within a distance of three hull lengths of the boat nearer to it. A boat is in the zone when any part of her hull is in the zone.

18.1 When Rule 18 Applies

Rule 18 applies between boats when they are required to leave a mark on the same side and at least one of them is in the zone.
However, it does not apply
(a) between boats on opposite tacks on a beat to windward,
(b) between boats on opposite tacks when the proper course at the mark for one but not both of them is to tack,
(c) between a boat approaching a mark and one leaving it, or
(d) if the mark is a continuing obstruction, in which case rule 19 applies.
Rule 18 no longer applies between boats when mark-room has been given.
18.2 Giving Mark-Room
(a) When boats are overlapped the outside boat shall give the inside boat mark-room, unless rule 18.2(b) applies.
(b) If boats are overlapped when the first of them reaches the zone, the outside boat at that moment shall thereafter give the inside boat mark-room. If a boat is clear ahead when she reaches the zone, the boat clear astern at that moment shall thereafter give her mark-room.
43.1 (a) When as a consequence of breaking a rule a boat has compelled another boat to break a rule, the other boat is exonerated for her breach.
(b) When a boat is sailing within the room or mark-room to which she is entitled and, as a consequence of an incident with a boat required to give her that room or mark-room, she breaks a rule of Section A of Part 2, rule 15, 16, or 31, she is exonerated for her breach.
(c) A right-of-way boat, or one sailing within the room or mark room to which she is entitled, is exonerated for breaking rule 14 if the contact does not cause damage or injury.
43.2 A boat exonerated for breaking a rule need not take a penalty and shall not be penalized for breaking that rule.


Posted: 1/10/2022 4:59:17 PM by Andrew Alberti | with 0 comments

Trackback URL:

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2020 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 or 2017-2020 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2021 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2021-24. A copy of the new rules can be found on
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is an International Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

Send your questions to Andrew at [email protected].


166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
After You Cross The Finishing Line I
Tacking III
Tacking II
Publication Changes and Tacking
How to Finish
Post Archive
May 2024(0)
May 2024(2)
March 2024(1)
February 2024(1)
May 2023(1)
September 2023(1)
September 2023(0)
May 2023(0)
January 2023(1)
April 2022(1)
December 2021(1)
October 2021(1)
August 2021(2)
March/April 2021(1)
January/February 2021(1)
December 2020(1)
November 2020(1)
September 2020(1)
July 2020(1)
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)