January 2010 - When Does Mark-Room End?

placeholder image

January 2010 - When Does Mark-Room End?

I had a question sent to me during last summer about the new mark-room rule. The question was when does mark-room end. There are really two answers, a legal one and a practical one. 

(click on the diagram to see a larger cleaner version)

If we look at the diagram, we see a scenario where the question applies. The two boats are approaching a gybe mark on starboard tack. There are probably other boats around, but showing them would make the diagram too crowded. The yellow boat reaches “the zone” (three of her hull lengths from the mark) just after position 1. She is overlapped inside the blue boat so according to 18.2(b) she is entitled to “mark-room”. She is also the right of way boat as the leeward boat. She makes a fairly close rounding of the mark at position 4. If there are no other boats around, this is probably not a good move, she should have gone wider. She was probably forced to this by the presence of other boats. Since she cannot turn on a dime, by the time she gets around the mark at position 5 there is a gap between her and the mark.   The blue boat hung back and swung wide. At position 5 the blue boat stuck her nose in and became a windward boat.   Yellow knowing that she was entitled to mark-room and the blue was not, and not wanting to be passed to windward, luffs up at position 6 trying to squeeze blue out (and probably yelling “no room, no room” or words to that effect). 
Let’s look at the rules that apply. 

16.1     When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other boat room to keep clear.

18.1     When Rule 18 Applies
Rule 18 applies between boats when they are required to leave a mark on the same side and at least one of them is in the zone. ….

18.2     Giving Mark-Room
(b)               If boats are overlapped when the first of them reaches the zone, the outside boat at that moment shall thereafter give the inside boat mark-room. If a boat is clear ahead when she reaches the zone, the boat clear astern at that moment shall thereafter give her mark-room.

18.5     Exoneration
When a boat is taking mark-room to which she is entitled, she shall be exonerated
(b)               if, by rounding the mark on her proper course, she breaks a rule of Section A or rule 15 or 16.

From position 5 to 6 the yellow boat is the right of way boat as the leeward boat. She is altering course quickly by luffing.   According to rule 16 she must do it in a way that gives the blue boat room to keep clear.   If yellow is subject to rule 16 this limits how quickly she can luff. 
Normally rule 18 overrides rule 16. A boat is entitled to alter course while rounding a mark. This is covered in 18.5(b). “she shall be exonerated…if…she breaks…rule 16”.

The yellow boat was overlapped on the inside when she got to the mark so blue has to give her mark-room (see rule 18.2(b).)   Blue saw a space and went inside. There is no rule that says that she can’t go inside, but yellow does not have to give her room to do it. While rule 18 applies Yellow is, as we have just seen, entitled to alter course without having to give room for blue to keep clear since she would be exonerated from breaking rule 16. Rule 18.1 says that rule 18 applies as long as one of them is in the zone. Both boats are still in the zone so legally rule 18 applies.   However if look more carefully at rule 18.5 we see that the right to be exonerated for altering course too quickly (breaking rule 16) applies while “rounding the mark on her proper course”. At some point after reaching the course to the next mark, yellow stopped rounding on her proper course and started to luff just to block blue. She is no longer exonerated for breaking rule 16.   She is still right of way boat but can only luff in a way that gives blue room to keep clear.  

This is just one of many examples that can lead to the question of “when does mark-room end?”   While the legal answer is often that it lasts until the boats have left the zone, the power of the rule ends when mark-room stops having a function which is usually much earlier.  

© Copyright 2010 Andrew Alberti
Posted: 1/1/2010 3:09:24 PM by Andrew Alberti

Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/86beac16-b3cd-4425-bd82-c9b06fc76b8e/January_2010_-_When_Does_Mark-Room_End.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2020 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 or 2017-2020 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2021 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2021-24. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is an International Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

Send your questions to Andrew at [email protected].


166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
After You Cross The Finishing Line I
Tacking III
Tacking II
Publication Changes and Tacking
How to Finish
Post Archive
May 2024(0)
May 2024(2)
March 2024(1)
February 2024(1)
May 2023(1)
September 2023(1)
September 2023(0)
May 2023(0)
January 2023(1)
April 2022(1)
December 2021(1)
October 2021(1)
August 2021(2)
March/April 2021(1)
January/February 2021(1)
December 2020(1)
November 2020(1)
September 2020(1)
July 2020(1)
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)