July 2011 - Port Over Starboard I

placeholder image

July 2011 - Port Over Starboard I

The first right-of-way rule that most of us learned is that port-tack boats keep clear of starboard-tack boats (currently rule 10). There are, however, exceptions – that is, situations where starboard-tack boats have to give room to port-tack boats. This month I will look at the exception created by the rule governing mark-room, rule 18.



(click on the diagram to see a larger cleaner version)

In the diagram, the blue boat on port tack gets to the zone (3 lengths from the mark) clear ahead of yellow, on starboard tack.  Blue and yellow are required to leave the mark on the same side, and blue is about to enter the zone at position one, so according to rule 18.1,, rule 18 applies between them (the rest of 18.1 lists exceptions that don’t apply here, but will be discussed next month). Rule 18.2(b) says that if a boat is clear ahead when she reaches the zone – as blue is – a boat clear astern at that moment – yellow – shall thereafter give her mark-room, which is room for blue to sail to the mark and then sail her proper course when she is at the mark. At position 3, yellow forces blue to alter course away from the mark. This means that she is not giving blue room to sail to the mark. Here, blue breaks rule 10 since as port-tack boat,  she is not allowing yellow to sail her course. Rule 18.5 exonerates blue for breaking that rule, though, since yellow was not giving blue the mark-room to which she is entitled. Even as a starboard-tack boat, yellow cannot sail the course that she wants to because she is required to give blue the room needed to sail to the mark. (Blue, on the other hand has no obligation to allow yellow to sail to the mark, so yellow must sheer off.)
 
10        ON OPPOSITE TACKS
When boats are on opposite tacks, a port-tack boat shall keep clear of a starboard-tack boat.

18        MARK-ROOM

18.1     When Rule 18 Applies
Rule 18 applies between boats when they are required to leave a mark on the same side and at least one of them is in the zone. …

18.2     Giving Mark-Room
(b)        If boats are overlapped when the first of them reaches the zone, the outside boat at that moment shall thereafter give the inside boat mark-room. If a boat is clear ahead when she reaches the zone, the boat clear astern at that moment shall thereafter give her mark-room.

18.5     Exoneration
When a boat is taking mark-room to which she is entitled, she shall be exonerated if, as a result of the other boat failing to give her mark-room, she breaks a rule of Section A, …

Mark-Room   
Room for a boat to sail to the mark, and then room to sail her proper course while at the mark. However, mark-room does not include room to tack unless the boat is overlapped to windward and on the inside of the boat required to give mark-room.



(click on the diagram to see a larger cleaner version)

The second diagram shows a slightly simpler, but less common situation that only happens with a leeward mark that is to be left to starboard, which may happen around a gatemark and in match racing. The green boat is on starboard, while the red boat is on port. As they get to the zone they are clearly overlapped so rule 18.2(b) entitles red to mark-room. Although red is entitled to sail to the mark, she is still port-tack boat and is thus not entitled to hold the course seen at position 1 or 2, which might give her a better gybing angle. As with yellow in our first example, and despite being the starboard-tack right-of-way boat, green must give mark-room to the port-tack boat,
Next month, we will look at why this is all true at a leeward mark but not at a windward mark.

© Copyright 2011 Andrew Alberti
 
Posted: 7/1/2011 1:53:17 PM by Andrew Alberti


Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/a47a75d0-f649-481e-a4f9-8658a89cb55a/July_2011_-_Port_Over_Starboard_I.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2016 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2017 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-20. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
ABOUT ANDREW ALBERTI
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is a National Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Send your questions to Andrew at kyrules@alberti.ca.

 

ABOUT RCYC: 
166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
 
Penalties – When and How to Take Them
New Rule Changes III
Mark Room at a Gybe Mark
March/April 2021 - New Rule Changes II
January/February 2021 - New Rule Changes
Post Archive
October 2021(0)
October 2021(1)
August 2021(2)
May/June 2021(0)
March/April 2021(1)
January/February 2021(1)
December 2020(1)
November 2020(1)
September 2020(1)
July 2020(1)
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)
RSS