July 2013 - Different Marks

placeholder image

July 2013 - Different Marks

I am going to take break from rule changes and cover a situation based on a question I was sent recently.


(click on the diagram to see a larger cleaner version)

In the diagram, Blue and Yellow are sailing downwind.  They are both on starboard tack.  Yellow is on a reach aiming for the gate mark.  Blue, whose fleet started earlier and is therefore a lap ahead,  is aiming for the finishing line. Blue does not have to go through the gate since it is not a mark of the course on the last downwind leg.   Blue feels that she is not being given room to finish by Yellow.  She is not being allowed to sail her proper course.
 
18 MARK-ROOM

18.1 When Rule 18 Applies
Rule 18 applies between boats when they are required to leave a mark on the same side and at least one of them is in the zone.

However, it does not apply
(a) between boats on opposite tacks on a beat to windward,
(b) between boats on opposite tacks when the proper course at the mark for one but not both of them is to tack,
(c) between a boat approaching a mark and one leaving it, or
(d) if the mark is a continuing obstruction, in which case rule 19 applies.

Rule 18, covers all marks other than a starting mark surrounded by navigable water, so room to finish and room at a mark are covered by it.  Rule 18.1 defines when the rest of rule 18 applies.    These two boats are not required to leave the same mark on the same side so the rest of rule 18 does not apply.  As far as room to finish, this would also only apply when both boats got to the three-length zone of the finishing mark, which neither is at this point,
 
Blue also feels that she is not being allowed to sail her proper course.  There are no rules that force Yellow to allow Blue to sail her proper course.  Yellow is the leeward boat, making her the right-of-way boat (rule 11).   She may or may not be allowed to sail above her own proper course depending upon how she established the overlap (rule 17).   This doesn’t really matter though since her proper course is probably towards the mark that she is sailing around and this is the course that is causing problems for Blue.  Yellow is allowed to sail that course.

At position 6, Yellow heads up quite significantly and quite quickly.  She does it in a way that makes it almost impossible for Blue to keep clear.  When she does this, she breaks rule 16.  This is where the fact that mark-room does not apply starts to hurt Yellow instead of Blue.  Normally boats are allowed to alter course quickly while rounding marks.  If a boat is entitled to mark-room, then she is exonerated if she breaks rule 16 in an incident with a boat required to give her mark-room. Since rule 18 does not apply, neither boat is entitled to mark-room so Yellow is not exonerated for breaking rule 16. 

16 CHANGING COURSE

16.1 When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other boat room to keep clear.

21 EXONERATION
When a boat is sailing within the room or mark-room to which she is entitled under a rule of Section C, she shall be exonerated if, in an incident with a boat required to give her that room or mark-room,
(a) she breaks a rule of Section A, rule 15 or rule 16, or
(b) she is compelled to break rule 31.

Situations like this require some anticipation on the race course.  Blue might be better to plan a course that keeps her away from boats rounding the gate marks.  Either boat might find it better to take the other’s stern.  A little communication and a little co-operation can probably avoid the problems in this situation

© Copyright 2013 Andrew Alberti
Posted: 7/1/2013 2:32:15 PM by Andrew Alberti


Trackback URL: https://rcyc.ca/trackback/d56b0a20-9c81-47c9-89e0-2707133a664b/July_2013_-_Different_Marks.aspx?culture=en-US

This page provides links to a set of articles original published in Kwasind magazine. The versions here include animated diagrams. The original articles can be found within the original magazines which are available online back to January 2007. 

Articles before December 2016 are based on the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-12 or 2013-2016 and have not been updated to reflect the changes that apply as of January 2017 with the publication of the Racing Rules of Sailing 2017-20. A copy of the new rules can be found on sailing.org.
ABOUT ANDREW ALBERTI
Andrew Alberti has been writing these monthly articles in the Kwasind since early 1997.  They explain the Racing Rules of Sailing. Andrew is a National Judge and National Umpire. He is a member of the Sail Canada Rules and Appeals Committees. The interpretation of the rules contained in the articles is Andrew's and not that of the RCYC or any of the committees he sits on. 

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
Send your questions to Andrew at kyrules@alberti.ca.

 

ABOUT RCYC: 
166 Years of Tradition | World-Class Sailing | Toronto Island & City Clubhouse
 
Penalties – When and How to Take Them
New Rule Changes III
Mark Room at a Gybe Mark
March/April 2021 - New Rule Changes II
January/February 2021 - New Rule Changes
Post Archive
October 2021(0)
October 2021(1)
August 2021(2)
May/June 2021(0)
March/April 2021(1)
January/February 2021(1)
December 2020(1)
November 2020(1)
September 2020(1)
July 2020(1)
June 2020(1)
May 2020(1)
March/April 2020(1)
January/February 2020(1)
November/December 2019(1)
September/October 2019(1)
July/August 2019(1)
May/June 2019(1)
March/April 2019(1)
January/February 2019(1)
November/December 2018(1)
September/October 2018(1)
July/August 2018(1)
May/June 2018(1)
March/April 2018(1)
January/February 2018(1)
November/December 2017(1)
October 2017(1)
September 2017(1)
August 2017(1)
July 2017(1)
June 2017(1)
May 2017(1)
April 2017(1)
March 2017(1)
January/February 2017(1)
December 2016(1)
November 2016(1)
October 2016(1)
September 2016(1)
August 2016(1)
July 2016(1)
June 2016(1)
May 2016(1)
April 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
January/February 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
October 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
August 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
May 2015(1)
April 2015(1)
March 2015(1)
January 2015(1)
December 2014(1)
November 2014(1)
October 2014(1)
September 2014(1)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(1)
June 2014(1)
May 2014(1)
April 2014(1)
March 2014(1)
January 2014(1)
December 2013(1)
November 2013(1)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(1)
August 2013(1)
July 2013(1)
June 2013(1)
May 2013(1)
April 2013(1)
March 2013(1)
January 2013(1)
December 2012(1)
November 2012(1)
October 2012(1)
September 2012(1)
August 2012(1)
July 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
May 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(1)
February 2012(1)
January 2012(1)
December 2011(1)
November 2011(1)
October 2011(1)
September 2011(1)
August 2011(1)
July 2011(1)
June 2011(1)
May 2011(1)
April 2011(1)
March 2011(1)
February 2011(1)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(1)
October 2010(1)
September 2010(1)
August 2010(1)
July 2010(1)
June 2010(1)
May 2010(1)
April 2010(1)
March 2010(1)
February 2010(1)
January 2010(1)
RSS